Gluten Free Banana Bread

This banana bread is made with banana flour. The original recipe is here, but after my first attempt was a bit disappointing, I adjusted the recipe and improved it.

The original recipe calls for half a cup of cacao, which I didn’t have in my kitchen, and which is not easily available in the supermarket. So I substituted cocoa in the same quantity, and ended up with a loaf which worked, but which was (a) a bit dry and (b) a little bitter because of the quantity of cocoa in it.

Banana flour seems to be able to absorb a lot of moisture (the packet advises that you can substitute for regular flour, but use about 1/3 less), which might explain the dryness of the loaf. So when I tried again, I substituted half the banana flour with coconut flour (which also has a sweeter taste). I also used half the amount of cocoa and added an extra egg so the mix was more moist. I’ve left the measurements in cups, because I happen to have a set of measuring cups in the kitchen.

Updated ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup banana flour
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 tablespoon runny honey
  • 1 teaspoon mixed spice
  • 1/2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda
  • 3 medium eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil (melted in the microwave)
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 3 mashed bananas (approx. 1 cup)
  • * extra banana for decorating the top
  • 2 tsp caster sugar to sprinkle on top banana

Mix all the ingredients together, apart from the mashed banana, which you fold in gently at the end. For extra smooth banana, I used my hand blender. Then transfer the mix to the lined tin. Slice another banana in half and place (seeds side up) on the top to decorate. Sprinkle with some caster sugar, which will caramelise on the top and stop the banana going black.

I used a square lined baking tin, and cooked it in my fan oven at 170°C for 40 minutes.

It’s the kind of cake you could take to work to feed colleagues, and they’d never suspect it was gluten free.

 

 

 

 

